View Full Version : minelab safari feedback anyone?

Akjosh
04-14-2011, 06:39 PM
I'm looking at the Minelab Safari to purchase and was wondering if any of you guys or gals could give me any feedback or experiences you may have had. Thanks a bunch. Oh ya, I'm a newbie to the art as well.

Steve Herschbach
04-16-2011, 03:13 PM
The Safari is a good coin and jewelry detector but we do not see many around here as people lean towards units that are good also for nugget detecting, like the X-Terras. The Safari's weakest suite would be as a nugget detector.

Steve Herschbach
04-18-2011, 12:04 PM
Are you the guy that contacted AMDS on Saturday? Bob and I were both off so the salespeople left know little about detectors we do not stock. I don't think we have ever sold a Safari. We stock and do sell quite a few E-Tracs and SE Pros. I have an E-Trac myself.

Walt_Anchorage
04-18-2011, 02:08 PM
Buy American. There are some good detectors made by American companies and this country needs all the help it can get.

Akjosh
04-18-2011, 04:33 PM
Yes that was me. I'm waiting till Tuesday to call back. I didn't realize you didn't stock them. I'm just figuring I won't get scared off if I start with a detector that I can go use in my yard, park, or beach. More options to learn with before I go for the elusive Juneau mini nugget. It seems like the best route into the MD world. Plus I have the lowdown on an $8000 ring my boss lost in the snow a couple of years ago, guaranteed it's still there, but there is LOTS of metal around where it is.

Akjosh
04-18-2011, 04:36 PM
Are the "American" detectors actually made here? Probably Mexico or china would be my guess. My wife has an American car...made in Mexico. Kinda sucks how companies do that. I would like to know if you have info on any that really are Made In The USA.
Thanks

Steve Herschbach
04-18-2011, 04:57 PM