View Full Version : Whites MXT PRO seeking advice for coin hunting

Mikthestik
04-29-2011, 09:51 AM
I am new to metal detecting and prospecting and picked up a New MXT PRO from AMDS back in Dec. It has finally thawed out enough to go and have some fun. I have been out to several parks and set my machine to coin/jewelry mode and set the descrimination to the recommended settings. As I scan the numbers bounce around quite a lot. Is this normal? I found some neutral ground and put a gold/platinum ring down and the numbers are inconsistant varying from 20 to 35 while scanning over the same target. Is this normal or should I set it differently ? I am concerned that I have missed targets because I will see several responses for a target varying from foil to coins and not digging for foil. Sometimes the target will register then disappear when I go back over it ? I am trying to figure out a reason for this. Am I doing something wrong ? I have changed the discrimination to see it that changes but it still bounces around quite a bit. I have had tons of fun playing with it and have found over thirty coins on a couple outings which were strong signals. I have found all kinds of things from dog tags to nails, and even a small silver ring ! What fun !! Thanks for any advice !!!

Steve Herschbach
04-29-2011, 10:35 AM
Yup, numbers bounce around on target id machines, including the MXT. Especially weak targets. When you sweep the target you never swing excactly the same way so the target varies depending on the sweep speed, angle of the coil, and how well centered you are over the target. What you do is watch the numbers and mentally average them. When in doubt, dig it out!

Detectors with few target id segments are less jumpy as targets get lumped together in fewer categories. Units like the MXT with 200 possible target id's jump around more.

Reno Chris
04-29-2011, 10:41 AM
Howdy!