View Full Version : Trying to find the right one.......?

Telecommbrkr
05-07-2011, 01:11 PM
Hi I am a newbie here, and am here cause I need to find experienced information regarding the choice of metal detector I am about to buy.

I am now the proud owner of several blocks of placer rights in the BC Rockies. :cool:
I am looking for a machine that will allow me to find the gold in quartz specimens, fairly small nugget gold, and be able to scan deeper than the top 8".

The area is higher mountain drainage, probably highly mineralized ground, that is also close to the source quartz viens somewhere in the surrounding bedrock.

I have talked with the sales staff at a large detector vendor, and each of the three times that I have talked with a different rep, I have gotten a different recommendation of a machine.

So far I have the following machines in mind:

Fischer Gold Bug DP (recommended by sales rep)

White's GMT (watched all the instructional videos and it looked easy to use)

Minelab Eureka (I lke the auto ground balance and three frequency features)

Garret Infinium LS ( I know this is a PI machine, but not sure about its worthiness)

If there was someone out there that either has experience with this type of prospecting or could direct me to someone or another forum with experience it would be greatly appreciated. Mining season starts soon!!!!

Steve Herschbach
05-07-2011, 01:45 PM
It is pinned at the top of this forum...

http://www.akmining.com/forums/showthread.php/13-Latest-Nugget-Detector-Recommendations-for-Alaska

Are you talking about trying to find gold in a piece of quartz you are holding in your hand? Or are you trying to detect gold in a vein running through highly mineralized bedrock? Finally, what is your budget?

Telecommbrkr
05-07-2011, 02:10 PM
I have placer rights, so therefore I am looking for specimen rocks in/on the ground near old mine tailings, and nuggets in glacial till.