View Full Version : Garrett Scorpion Gold

camper
07-26-2011, 04:21 PM
I am new to metal detecting, and to this site. I looking in this forum for any related discussions and didn't see any (doesn't mean I missed one) in regards to the Garrett Scorpion Gold Stinger which is my first metal detector. I know it will take a bit to learn the ins and outs. My question is did I make a good purchase. I plan on searching for coins, and relics. Also want to make plans to go to gold country and do a little looking.

Any insight from a pro would be great. I read up on Garrett and saw that they have been in business for a while so thought it would be a good first buy.

jpiii
07-26-2011, 05:50 PM
Hello Camper, I suggest as a good place to start that you take a look at my profile and find the posts that I recently put up. I too am starting this hobby, and the feedback from Steve H., Jim Hemmingway, Reno Chris, TheSeeker, auminesweeper, little man, etc. is extremely helpful. While much of the advice refers to different machines, but there may be some bits that will help you.

See also the sticky-post at the top of the forum that gives a good run down of many popular machines for 2010-2011, including the Gold Stinger.

Have fun!
John
Valdez, AK.

camper
07-27-2011, 08:59 AM
Would be the very first thread that had some info on my detector, and I didn't open it. I think from what I read the Scorpion will turn out to be a good starter detector. Thanks for the info. I know I have a lot to learn about it, and can't wait to start. Thankfully I start a week vacation this coming week so I will be able to do just that. There is a wealth of information on this site, and I sure thank all the members that give that info. so newbies like myself can learn.

So with that I give a big Texas sized THANKS!

little man
07-27-2011, 03:00 PM