View Full Version : Looking for Locations to Metal Detect in Alaska and Lower 48 that are not claimed.

nuggetdoc2u
09-03-2011, 05:02 AM
Hi,

I am relatively new to the hobby of nugget shooting/prospecting and would like to know where I can do some prospecting with a detector, receive training and not break the bank. I have read of a few individuals on the web who are experienced, schedule outings for a fee and hold such events at Rye Patch, NV, Gaines Creek, Alaska, and so on. Does anyone have any other recommendations? Experience?

As a novice, I do not expect to get rich, but I do expect to be able to find a few grains/grams now and then even in severely pounded ground. BTW, this site is one of the best I have encountered since doing my research on the hobby. Steve and company appear to be straight shooters with publications and experience to back up their "claims" (excuse the pun :)

If you have personally participated in any of the outings I would like to know your perceptions of same.

Thanks,

Mike

Akjosh
09-24-2011, 03:12 PM
There is a few places in Juneau Alaska that you can Prospect that aren't claimed. You can even find tiny nuggets sometimes, so I hear. I've only found dust with my pan.

kamikaze1a
09-24-2011, 05:42 PM
I would suggest that you buy your detector from a dealer who offers training. Some buy their first detector from discount/big box dealer and then struggle to get over a good target. You should really buy from a dealer who offers service/training with the sale. Steve's a great dealer and there are also several in AZ, OR and ID too so a lot depends on where you will be spending some time...

I believe Steve holds a class in Anchorage but not sure if it is open to everyone or just his customers. If you will be in Anchorage, you should contact him but probably best to wait a bit since he is off detecting some where in OZ...

Michaeldoc
09-26-2011, 02:06 AM
Appreciate the advice.

Michaeldoc
09-26-2011, 02:08 AM