View Full Version : Air travel with your detector?

Jrreyboi
12-26-2011, 08:23 AM
Hey guys, newbie here with a question regarding traveling with your detector. I purchased a Garrett AT Gold as a Christmas present for myself last week. I've prospected on and off here in Idaho for a few years and have always wanted to try my hand at detecting for gold. As I mentioned, I am a total newbie with this but we have a Cabo trip planned the end of January and I was wondering if I should consider taking my detector down with me as we're spending a week on the beach? I assume when you travel you carry on your detector? I'd appreciate any thoughts you may have along these lines.

JR

Steve Herschbach
12-26-2011, 09:08 AM
I always travel with a detector or two. 95% of the time I just pack it in my check on baggage. I am packing to head home in a few hours and am packing an AT Gold in my check on bag.

If I am traveling with my GPX 5000 I put the control box and battery in my carry on since they cost so much.

I guess I do not worry much as in all my years of air travel, I have never had a bag get totally lost. Late, yes, but not gone forever.

Derek W
12-26-2011, 09:59 AM
I put the control box in a carry-on as well. Wrap it up in a soft shirt. The coil and apparatus tucked nice and snuggly in the luggage. It's interesting beach combing with a detector at night. I'm sure you'll get real good at identifying bottle tops on a Cabo beach. Good luck.

Jrreyboi
12-26-2011, 03:36 PM
What other items do you guys pack when you travel, shovel, sifter , etc?

Steve Herschbach
12-27-2011, 08:32 AM
Not much. My standard are belt with trash/treasure pouch, headphones, and plastic digging scoop. If nugget detecting add digging pick, beach hunting a sifter, and turf hunting a Lesche digging tool.

ddmk6
12-27-2011, 10:33 PM