View Full Version : Which detector is best for me in Arizona?

Statch
02-18-2012, 08:45 PM
Hello!

I currently live in Florida and plan on moving to Arizona within the next month or so. I have never been involved in the detecting hobby before. I buy & sell gold and silver bullion all the time and hold gold & silver positions on the COMEX. While trying to figure out what I would spend my free time doing in Arizona I figured how fun it would be to go out and start finding that stuff.

I'm not really interested in relics, meteorites, or coins (unless they're gold or silver ;)). I want to be looking for nuggets both small & large. Being that i'm very new to this sort of work, I have a few questions that maybe some of you who are more experienced could answer for me.

My first question would be which detector would fit my needs the best? I have done a lot of research on various makes & models but I am still left unsure. I would love to get a ML GPX 5000 sometime soon but feel that it would be best to start out this new hobby with something a little less expensive. Other models that have caught my attention are White's GMT, MXT, Gold Bug 2, and Garrett's Infinium. I understand that each model has it's strengths and weaknesses but would just like some advice on which one would be best for what I'm looking for. I would like to spend in the ballpark of about $1000-$1500. This leads into my second question. Which coils should I use? I don't want to be missing any possible finds due to a sub-par coil. Its worth it to me to buy a good coil(s).

The thing that bothers me is that I want to be finding even the smallest of gold targets but don't want to be missing large nuggets in the meantime. I am not sure what kind of ground noise is typical for Arizona and which detector would be best for that area. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!