View Full Version : 5 weeks in Alaska

fireworks guy
10-17-2012, 09:36 PM
Hi yall,
I Have been a member on here for a little over year now, never posting just reading all the good info on the forum. Learned a lot of good stuff. My wife and I spent five weeks in Ak this year and I have nothing but praise for what is truely Gods country. We spent all this time looking at all the different areas from Chicken to Homer and everywhere in between. We have decided to move to AK as she is a nurse and has job offers from hospitals all over the state from Nome to Kodiak, and I have a seasonal fireworks business that I can return back to MS to do a few weeks out of the year.
I have been prospecting for only a few years and have a fair amount of equipment, but only have very limited places here in the southeast to use it. When my wife said she wanted to go to Alaska to look around, naturally I was all for it, from a prospectors point of veiw . I will be looking forward to meeting some of you eventually. After stopping at AMDS its safe to say I will be buying some more equipment in the spring, nice setup there.
Im going to be looking for places to prospect for a claim of my own one day, I figure this first full summer will be spent doing this, then filing all the right paper work for the following year, if I can figure it out. I did get to some good looking places, but after the floods came that ended. Might even have to buy or lease a claim, I would love to even work along side of more seasoned prospectors for the expierience if anyone needs help, I figured out real quick that Alaska isnt the place to be out in the bush by yourself if you dont have to.
Any thoughts, advice , or opinions are always welcome.
Charlie

geowizard
10-18-2012, 08:26 AM
Hi Charlie, May I be first to say; "Welcome to the Forum!". (Y'all) :)

A few thoughts from my personal observation;